Title Change Takes Place At AEW Fyter Fest Night One

AEW Fyter Fest Logo

AEW’s annual double headed Fyter Fest began last night at the H-E-B Center in Cedar Park, Texas in a show headlined by Darby Allin defeating ‘All Ego’ Ethan Page in a crazy Coffin Match.

This wasn’t the only significant happening on the show however. Earlier in the night, in a match between two Team Taz members, Ricky Starks defeated Brian Cage to win the latter’s FTW Championship.

The win was not a clean one. It came after Team Tax’s Powerhouse Hobbs struck his stablemate Cage with the belt to allow Tazz to get the pin.

With Taz’s son Hook also getting involved in Starks’ favour, it seems abundantly clear that Cage is no longer affiliated with the faction.

Starks becomes only the fourth man in history to hold the title. Cage obviously being one with the title’s originator Taz being the most well known holder. Sabu is the only other holder, having beaten Taz for it briefly in ECW.

The title was brought back in 2020 when it made its AEW with Taz gifting it to his then protege Cage.