Cristiano Ronaldo Hits Back At Lionel Messi Winning Ballon d’Or With One-Word Reply

Ronaldo vs Messi
Credits: @Cristiano / @PSG_English

This year’s Ballon d’Or results, as always, had the world talking – but the debate didn’t centre around Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi for the first time in years.

However, the fallout just may turn everyone’s attention back to the age-old argument, as Cristiano Ronaldo has agreed with a post from one of his fans saying FIFA will “always find a way” to give Messi the award, even when he has a “low season” – using the words “steal”, “dirt” and “shame” in the post.

Ronaldo replied to the the post on Instagram with the word “factos” as well as thumbs up and side glance emojis.

The comment came shortly after Ronaldo’s own Instagram post, which claimed:

“I always congratulate those who win, within sportsmanship and fair play that guided my career from the beginning, and I do so because I’m never against anyone.”

The Manchester United striker was responding to Ballon d’Or organiser and editor-in-chief of France Football Pascal Ferre with the post. after Ferre said:

“Ronaldo has only one ambition, and that is to retire with more Ballons d’Or than Messi. I know that because he has told me.”

Lionel Messi won the Ballon d’Or for a record sixth time, while Ronaldo finished in sixth place. However, many believed Bayern Munich talisman Robert Lewandowski should have won the illustrious award after having statistically the best year to date of his career. The 33 year-old broke Gerd Muller’s nearly 50-year record of scoring 40 goals in a single Bundesliga season as he led the line for Bayern Munich to capture another league title.

Here are the full rankings of the 2021-22 Ballon D’Or Top 30 ranking.

29=. Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)
29=. Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
26=. Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)
26=. Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
26=. Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)
25. Phil Foden (Manchester City)
24. Pedri (Barcelona)
23. Harry Kane (Tottenham)
21=. Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)
21=. Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
20. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
19. Mason Mount (Chelsea)
18. Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)
17. Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)
16. Neymar (PSG)
15. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
14. Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)
13. Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)
12. Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)
11. Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG)
9. Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
8. Kevin De Bruyne
7. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
6. Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
5. N’golo Kante (Chelsea)
4. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
3. Jorginho (Chelsea)
2. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
1. Lionel Messi (PSG)