England Handed “Group Of Death” In UEFA Nations League Draw

UEFA Nations League Logo

England have been drawn against two familiar rivals and European heavyweights in the UEFA Nations League.

The runners up from last summer’s European Championships will meet the nation who beat them on penalties in the final, Italy. However, that is far from the only difficult assignment in the group stage as they have also been drawn against Germany and Hungary.

Nations League groups in full:

Group A1: Austria, Croatia, Denmark, France.

Group A2: Czech Republic, Switzerland, Portugal, Spain.

Group A3: Hungary, England, Germany, Italy.

Group A4: Wales, Poland, Netherlands, Belgium.

Group B1: Ukraine, Scotland, Republic of Ireland, Armenia

Group B2: Iceland, Russia, Israel, Albania

Group B3: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Finland, Romania, Montenegro

Group B4: Sweden, Norway, Serbia, Slovenia

Group C1: Turkey, Luxembourg, Lithuania, Faroe Islands

Group C2: Northern Ireland, Greece, Kosovo, Cyprus/Estonia*

Group C3: Slovakia, Belarus, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan/Moldova*

Group C4: Bulgaria, North Macedonia, Georgia, Gibraltar

Group D1: Liechtenstein, Kazakhstan/Moldova*, Andorra, Latvia

Group D2: Malta, Cyprus/Estonia*, San Marino

*Kazakhstan play Moldova and Cyprus play Estonia in March 2022 play-offs. The winners will be in League C and the losers in League D


Reacting to the draw, England boss Gareth Southgate said that the games represented “exciting fixtures” for his young team.

“Whatever happens won’t ease the disappointment of losing the final,” said England boss Southgate of facing Italy again.

“Of course it’s a very good fixture for us to play and the fact we have been to the final with them means it will grab more attention, so that puts more interest on the game, which is what we want.”

On the group as a whole, Southgate added: “They are exciting games. I think the Nations League format throws up these outstanding fixtures.”

Each team will play four group games in June 2022, and a further two fixtures the following September. The four group winners from League A will then meet in June 2023. The winners, and teams that finish bottom of each division will be subject to promotion and relegation.